[.:remember the future:.]
[hiv][older][about me][profile][d.land]
Hate-A-Thon ... Day 7
07.21.03 //_ 1:35 AM

Poseurs

The 7th thing I hate the most is poseurs -- people who pretend to be something that they're not. This can range from punk poseurs to honest-people poseurs to whatever really.

The reason why I hate poseurs is cause it's not who you are. You have to be yourself.. it's fine that you're influenced but you still have to have some of your own originality to not be a poseur. People who flat out go to stores and buy certain clothes cause they're "cool" while not even thinking if they themselves like it is taking part in being a poseur.

A poseur that I know or used to know is a girl named Kourtney back in GB. About 2 years back she was just the normal chick. She really had nothing standing out for her.. she wore just clothes she liked which was ideal cause that's what you should do. Then late this year before school ended she turned "ultra punk." Why, may you ask? I have no clue.. Hm.. let me think. Oh yeah! Cause "punk" is now the trend these days. Now Kourtney wears band t-shirts [she never really did before] has those short pant things and the shoes.

When did all the sudden things become a trend and it's cool to be a certain thing? I believe what is best is to just be yourself -- be an individual.. cause once the trend moves over into something you already have been forever [like say you were already a "punk" and then the trend happens to be "punk"] it makes those who were already punks seem like the poseurs simply cause they're not following the trend. Did that make sense? Good.

The best thing to do with this growing number of trends is just stick to what you like best, even if it does mean being the only one. Cause in the end -- you're own fulfillment is what [should] matter.

Through the years I've stuck to what I like to wear until I went into 7th grade. I would walk into stores and automatically think about what others would like to see on me -- instead of what I'd like to see on myself. Then I realized what I was doing and entering freshman year I finally got the guts to get the clothes I wanted. I had finally become an individual and I felt proud. To this day I've stayed true to myself .. I have gotten influenced aswell from friends in association with the punk-genre.. but I plan on keeping my roots as "goth". :)

It's just sad to see people wasting their time being something their not -- and it's even more humiliating when they claim that is who they are when they're obviously a stranger in someone elses skin.

=->

[ By the way, please check out the past entree because I need your input on something.. yes, YOUR input on something. That means leaving a note for me, can it seriously be that hard? I don't think so. So if you missed the other entree please check it out and leave me a note with your input. It would be greatly appreciated. Plus, I added some hot guy photos! Yeah!! .. *ahem* So please check it out. Thank you. =-> ]

« before ⎨&⎬ after »



xxx