[.:remember the future:.]
[hiv][older][about me][profile][d.land]
Hate-A-Thon ... Day 5
07.23.03 //_ 5:23 PM

Homophobes

I'm a gay male, and you thought that Homophobes wouldn't make it on my list? Think twice! Well, anyway, I absolutely cannot stand Homophobic people -- first off cause that makes them against me .. which I don't like to be hated upon. Secondly cause usually that hate is based on stereotypes, ignorance and prejudice .. things I also can't stand.

I respect peoples opinions to the point where they accept homosexuals but just don't want to see it.. that's fine by me. As long as they aren't violent or stupid then I can respect that and move on. It's the people that protest gay marriages.. spend time doing hate crimes against gay people.. killing other homosexuals.. those things and much more are way un-acceptable.

I was watching this film in Health about hate crimes.. It talked about this bisexual boy about 17 years old [I think] and he was a victim of a hate crime. A week after he was attacked by a few homophobes who threatened to kill him -- the guy took his own life by killing himself. I don't blame him, it's hard to be gay and proud of yourself in a society as it is already.

I'm sure many of you have heard about the boy that was taken to a field and beat mercelessly till he was killed. I don't remember his name but it was all sparked because he was simply gay. Why all the hate? Why don't people try to UNDERSTAND where we're coming from? Being gay is not a choice. That's one reason why I don't believe in the Bible ['cause the Bible makes up a bunch of shit about how it's against "God" and it's "the work of the Devil" and it's a choice to go against God's will.. what the fuck ever.. Sorry if there's any christian people readin this..].

I mean, ever since I came out to all my friends online.. overwhelmingly I've been accepted for who I am.. but there was the guys that hate gays and IMed me talking about threatening my life.. etc. I won't release their names but it should be obvious if you read my past entrees. The threats though don't mean a thing to me, 'cause after all they live an hour away from me and don't know where I live anyway.. they can't do anything unless they're extremely determined.. which I doubt.

All of this hate is based mostly upon stereotypes, ignorance and prejudice.. If we were to educate the public about gay awareness [which I think does happen but not often enough] there probably wouldn't be so much hate. If only there was as way to get it into peoples mind the TRUTH about homosexuality.

It's also very hard growing up realizing that it will be extremely hard to find other gay males such as myself because of the lack of acceptance. Guys who are gay usually do not come out unless they know they will be accepted.. I don't see very many openly gay guys walking around.. most people just keep it hidden away due to their safety.. whatever it may be. That's a reason why I get so depressed because straight people have it so much more easier in the dating sense. It'd be a lot easier if people could just be fine with things and let people be who they are. It's hard to be proud of yourself when you're constantly being opposed.

It's funny how lesbians are more sought after than gay guys. Actually, it's appalling. If you accept lesbians simply cause you're attracted to them doesn�t mean you can't accept males who are gay -- just cause you accept them doesn�t mean that you're attracted to them. But I must admit with the majority of males I've told about my sexuality -- they're fine with it -- some just don�t want to see it happening but they're absolutely cool with it. And it's kind of weird how its mostly straight males who are against gay males. You never really see any straight women who are against gays. And you wonder why gay men have more women friends then male friends...

Basically.. I think that if you're gay, lesbian or bisexual.. it's best to just stay true to yourself.. don't tell people who you suspect might hate you for it cause you don't want to put yourself in hurts path.. but I would advise you tell someone close so you can have someone to confide in.. being gay comes with a lot of issues and tears.. it's hard but people can make it through it if we all just support each other. Equality is what I'm looking for one of these days.

---

I apologize to everyone about me not updating earlier with this.. I've been busy all of today until now. I'll be making an entree a bit later after I get my hair cut [YUP!! I'm getting a Mohawk!! HELL YEAH!!] with what went on today.. I also have something I would like to share with everyone.. it's kind of a .. dark secret but I feel people should know, and it's something no one even knows about .. I haven't even told any of my closest or best friends.. but I guess they'll know soon enough. Check back in the following hours for more info on that.

And thanks to everyone who has already signed my guestbook! I really appreciate it.. Anyone and everyone who signs mine will get one in return by me.. plus I'd like to check out other peoples diaries whom check out mine as well. It's cool. So if you haven't signed mine yet -- the link is on the left. :D Thanks again everyone for your support.

=->

« before ⎨&⎬ after »



xxx