[.:remember the future:.]
[hiv][older][about me][profile][d.land]
The Texas Chain Saw Massacre
October 12, 2003 //_ 12:17 PM

I just watched the original, "The Texas Chain Saw Massacre."

The re-make of TCSM comes out on October 17. But moving along.

I've been wanting to watch this movie for about 2 years now. I heard about it from conversations long and forgotten but the name always stuck in my head. I think everyone knows about it by now, regardless if they've seen it or not. I would always pester my dad into letting me rent it but he would always tell me no. I asked him if he's seen it before and he hasn't. I had no clue why he wouldn't let me see it. But finally, after 2 years of asking every time we headed to Blockbuster (I swear, I would always ask) he finally said okay.

From what I put into my mind from the cover, I had thought it would be quite gory for its time, I was facinated by the sound effects the movie has. The sounds of a camera being taken and/or developing.. something like that. It's been on the previews for the new TCSM too.

If you don't want to know about the movie's plot, don't read below, it might give away something for the new TCSM as well.

Anyway, a quick synopsis. It's about 5 individuals that are on a joy ride (to where? I don't know) and they pick up a fucked up hitch hiker.. scares them and then ends up coming back later on in the story. They go to an old abandoned house and then find another place and try to ask for gas. Guy gets hit by Leatherface with a hammer, chick comes looking for him, she gets thrown on meat hook and the boyfriend gets cut into pieces by the chain saw whilst the girlfriends struggling on the meat hook.

One thing I loved about that sequence is how the guy ran into the house and immediately the weird Leatherface hits him over the head and slams this metallic door shut. It made me think of a slaughter house. Regardless if the noises sounded like a pig.

I don't even think the story had any basis, the point of the movie was the scare and shock audiences, to be completely honest, I was only shocked twice. When the chick was thrown on the meat cleaver or whatever and when the old "Grandaddy" started sucking on the blood from the chicks fingers. That old man was hideous.

Anyways, skip all the crap, the other remaining guy was slaughtered in his wheel chair (didn't show anything though) and the last chick survived. I forgot the actresses� name, Marilyn something, but holy shit that chick could scream. They were so .. realistic it was frightening.

The ending was really cheesy, the chick got away in a hitchhikers car and then it showed Leatherface swinging his chain saw around for a good minute. It didn't make sense to me. Lots of things were left untouched. Like, what happened to the chick afterwards? Did the police find out? What happened to Leatherface? I guess those questions were answered in TCSM 2, 3 and 4. I have not seen those, and I bet they're pretty damn horrible. There's rumours going around about TCSM 5, the script is even on this website, just click the link to the script. I have not read it (it would take forever, okay?) but who knows?

The movie was okay though. Pretty damn weird for me. I found out that it's based on true events that came from Ed Gein, there was no real "Leatherface" but added in for more interest, along with the chain saw. If you're interested in where Silence of the Lambs, Psycho and TCSM got their ideas from, try renting the video "Ed Gein" .. I saw it at Blockbuster and I was tempted to rent it but was a bit skeptical in the producing aspects. I will definitely rent it next time I'm there though.

But I would say that if you're interested enough in a classic, check out TCSM. I've heard a lot about it and now I actually have knowledge in what the fuck I talk about. I don't think I'll think about chain saws the same again.

Well.. now I just feel queasy. I'm hungry though. I think I'll go dig up some local graves and unleash my fetish of nibbling on dead, rotting flesh.

Just joshin ya.

Cheers my deers.
xx

« before ⎨&⎬ after »



xxx