[.:remember the future:.]
[hiv][older][about me][profile][d.land]
Alone Before Daybreak And Saying Goodbye
February 20, 2005 //_ 7:51 PM

Alone from the shipwreck, I tried to walk across the shore without finding a trace of you lying around. But of course, you stumbled upon my mishap. I gradually asked you to *tie me here in time, I think I'm doing alright, and kind of getting by... Who do you turn to when you don't know who you turned into?* And all you could do was look at me with those ocean blue eyes. Above us the sky would turn into red speckles and I could feel every fragment of tears appearing on my skin. The ones you wish you could've cried.

Before the switch was hit and before I found myself lying between the silences left by your words, I always realized what was hanging in front of me. *I've seen your flag on the marble arch, love is not a victory march, it's a cold and it's a broken hallelujah.* And if what was written on your arm means anything to me, it could be the ship that could carry us to safety. We could look across the riveting water and wonder why these circumstantial consequences were so realistic in their hope for cutting us to the bone. A shipwreck ending in possible desperation. But instead you couldn't care less.

Daybreak would be any minute from now. Moths would begin to disappear and soon we would as well. Fragments of red littered the salt across your palm and I could hear those words you spoke to me so clearly now. *You were right, I'm hanging 'round because light and sound won't separate us from them.* I never liked admitting these truths. Not with the sun fast approaching.

And with every stroke of the boat skimming across the black sea, I can sense the time changing. I can feel the last straws of the lie I'm telling you. And even though I may be sorry now, it's not like I didn't enjoy it at the time. He *claims [s]he loves me but [s]he cuts me into pieces..* A separate plate for something too late. What have I become from staring at my own misunderstanding? A forecast of regret lingers above us now, no longer red changes within the sky.

Saying Goodbye was always the hardest thing for a weak heart like mine. I *wish that I was as invisible as you make me feel.* It's nice to know you were never something tangible. A sigh of relief can be reached here, but instead I'll just open the door and leave you in the pouring rain. Soon the news will come on about the crash and announce out of the 49 passengers, 1 died today.

You never did answer my question.

xxxx

---CREDITS---

*Phrase 1: "Getting there is getting by" by Punchline
*Phrase 2: "Hallelujah" by Rufus Wainwright
*Phrase 3: "You're the good things" by Modest Mouse
*Phrase 4: "Papercuts" by Gym Class Heroes
*Phrase 5: "The Pros and Cons of Breathing" by Fall Out Boy

« before ⎨&⎬ after »



xxx