[.:remember the future:.]
[hiv][older][about me][profile][d.land]
Gone.
December 01, 2005 //_ 8:48 PM

We sat in your car through silence and you turned to me and smiled. Things were finally filling complete. I was smiling and you were actually seeing me. I could look in your eyes finally and press my hand to your face. You didn�t turn away this time, and I didn�t hold back.

I walked from your car in the rain to my doorstep. I looked back and you were still there, waiting to make sure my coverage in the house was secure. I went inside and shut / locked the door. You slowly but steadily started to drive away.

There was a letter by the phone. I entered the room silently, taking every possible step before I was before it, and lifted it to my eyes. There was my name, written with black ink. I turned the envelope to it�s side and unwrapped the letter buried within. You wrote to me.

Finishing your last written words, I dropped the letter to the floor. I ran out the front door as if my rushing could stop you from driving away. I stood in the middle of the receiving rain, arms outstretched asking for a return. I was granted droplets, nothing more than a flash of your tail lights and you were gone.

I fell forward into the vast growing pool of cloud-shine. My face to the cement, I cried to have water mix through salt. The street ahead was empty. My head was empty. My heart was empty. I shut my eyes to see your face.
You were not coming back.
I was falling apart.

xxxx

« before ⎨&⎬ after »



xxx