[.:remember the future:.]
[hiv][older][about me][profile][d.land]
(a)Wake.
February 01, 2006 //_ 9:45 PM

there is a street i walk along everyday. and beyond the pavements enclosure lies a gray picket fence that holds him back. he stands quietly, triumphantly alone. i do not know him, nor have i ever spoke a word to him. but everyday that i walk by, he's standing in the same spot like the day before - never saying a word - only smiling back at me.

i walk by and nod, for i do not know what pleases him so. is it the comfort he has knowing no one can intrude through the fence to him, or is it the pain knowing he can never leave?

sometimes i want to take a chance and open my mouth to ask him why he stands so alone, but i feel ashamed and remind myself to keep shut. sometimes i wave. sometimes i don't. his smile reminds me of the fence itself. holding something back, a secret, an unknown whisper.

to this day, i still do not know why he's always there, smiling back at me, through that fence.

« before ⎨&⎬ after »



xxx